Book List (Summer Goals, Part 1 of 2)

I’m back–I’m sure you guys missed me to death! Bet you’re all looking at me like…

Well, finals are finally over and I am happy to be beginning my two and a half months of freedom (as are the rest of American children) (do I sound like a grandmpa?) (yup.)

I’ve decided that I am going to re-literate my brain (irony 4 lyfe) by reading more because the last time I read voluntarily was on the plane to New York…in March…so my mind is basically mush. I have compiled a list of books I am planning to read (I want to read A LOT so that I don’t feel totally stupid by the time the summer ends.) If anyone would care to join me, write about it in my ask box or the comments below and we can arrange book discussions, because the only thing better than reading the books are TALKING about them with other people!! Some of these have come from various websites, or are just things I’ve always wanted to get around to reading but never have. There’s too much to read and life isn’t long enough for any of it, goddamit (grandpa again.)

1. Weetzie Bat by Francesca Lia Block

This book takes place about an adolescent girl in L.A. in the 70’s and that’s why I want to read it, because there’s nothing better than hormones, tacos, and polyester. On a more serious and non-stereotypical note, I have literally heard nothing but good things about Francesca Lia Block’s writing and I have always wanted to read this because of the setting since I live in the same place. The plot also seems like something I wouldn’t mind. Anything realistic is fine with me the majority of the time.

2. Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov

Not only am I dying to see the film (yes, I am not going to be ashamed to admit it,) but I feel like I can handle Lolita now. It’s not like I couldn’t before, but maybe my appreciation will grow and I’ll be able to understand the descriptions and the plot more. And, like Block’s writing, I never hear bad things about his either. I’m a cliche, but I can’t do much about it now, can I?

3. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

I’ve heard people rave on about Perks for quite some time and never read it. Well, now I have a sudden burst of motivation because of the film coming out. I know this film will fuck up the movie because, let’s be real, even if a film has Emma Watson trying not to be English and Ezra Miller and unicorns and candy and cars and freedom, it’s going to be a piece of shit in comparison to the novel. I am determined to read this without seeing the film unless it gets good reviews, in which case, we’ll have to see.

4. Holidays on Ice by David Sedaris

I already read Me Talk Pretty One Day on a plane, and I was dying. Not just giggling quietly or trying not to drink my ice water, but actually snot-out-the-nose, obnoxious, loud, screaming laughing. Anymore David Sedaris in my life, and I am almost positive that no matter what happens to me, I’ll be okay. I feel better about everything after having read his books, and this one is one of his first so I’m really excited to try it out.

5. Imaginary Girls by Nova Ren Suma

Basically, I read a review of this story and they compared it to Weetzie Bat, except it’s about New England and there’s a murder in it. The descriptions, however, of the food and the setting, are rich in detail, and detail is something that I crave a lot of the time. It’s about a girl named Chloe who finds a dead classmate at the bottom of a river who comes back to life. Now, I haven’t read many fantasy novels because I just dislike them (yes, I am that rare person who didn’t like Harry Potter and is not planning on trying again) but this whole weird-New-England-muder-setting thing is really turning me on (uh, book wise) and I will read it for those reasons. The dead body should be fine, though–after all, I saw Stand By Me, I can pretty much do anything now, right? Right.
6.  Just Kids by Patti Smith
 
Now, I have a theory about a Patti Smith: when she’s singing, you shut the fuck up, when she’s talking, you shut the fuck up, and when she’s writing you shut the fuck up and open then the goddam book before lightening comes down and strikes your ass. But, hey, that’s just me, and because it would be hypocritical not to abide by my own rules, I will read her book.
7. Bastard out of Carolina by Dorothy Allison
 
I’m not going to lie–books about the south entice me because I buy into over-generalizations a little often for my own good. The title itself sounds like something that could be written during the Depression or even now, because, bear in mind, I enjoy stereotypes about different regions in America. Slut-shaming? Check. Poverty? Check. Abuse? Check. The south? Check. Everything I could want in a book is now here and I am prepared to meet a new literary hero.
 
8. Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides
Because I am a cliche blogger, I have already read The Virgin Suicides and seen the film. While both of them were good, I want more hyper-realistic fiction, which Jeffrey Eugenides proves should probably be a genre all its own. Middlesex is about the thing that nobody wants out of their child, whether it be that rich suburban family or the inner city one: a child being born biologically male and female, forcing us to question what gender really is and how much of it we make up ourselves. Born as a girl and identifying as a male (or so the summary seems to say,) Cal is the main character of the novel, who makes us fear others as much as we fear ourselves.
9. Looking for Alaska by John Green
 
 
Because I have seen his Youtube videos, which are funny and insightful (or at least gifs of them) and because everybody at my school is practically obsessed with all of his novels, I figured I’d give John Green a go. Seems pretty interesting, despite its cliche plot, and I can’t really say I’m going to complain about a novel when the person’s name is Alaska. Let’s hope I don’t fuck up and say Ohio when I’m talking to people who’ve read it, because by the looks of the passion people have about his novels, shit would really not go over well (as in, missing limbs.)
10. Here They Come by Yannick Murphy
Apparently, Here They Come is about a family in New York City in the 70’s. If I haven’t made it clear before by my previous choices that I like stories that reflect a setting, I’m telling you right now. A 13-year-old girl with a rather screwed up family if I do say so myself (alcoholic French grandmother, suicidal older brothers, and two sisters) is the narrator as she takes us on a journey through the lower-east side of Manhattan. Based on the fact that it’s short and sweet, my type of genre, and about the city that nobody can really stop exploring, I for one am not going to complain. The rest of you can do as you please.
 
Well, those are my top ten! I have others I’m planning to read (Girl, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, and more Alexander McCall Smith, but that’s just me. If any of you are reading these, feel free to contact me so we can read and discuss together.
3 Comments

Filed under Books

3 responses to “Book List (Summer Goals, Part 1 of 2)

  1. Middlesex was brilliant. It’s a very interesting story but got a little long at some parts.
    Totally worth reading!

  2. Oh okay! I’ll be sure to read it then 🙂

  3. Pingback: Just Amazing (sucky titles 2k12) | Lovely, Dark, and Deep

Leave a Reply

