McQueen Vomit

This title sounds really insulting but I just wanted to do a bunch of aesthetically satisfying pictures of Alexander McQueen’s work. And, as a non sequitur, the post I did on my adventures to New York has been deleted because the pictures weren’t showing up. If you would like me to make the post again, I will gladly do so, but I do not have the time at the moment. In other news, I’ve been posting every day so I’m excited about that!

My favorite collection is Spring ’10 just because of the shoes and the hair and the makeup and THE EVERYTHING oh my gosh. Also, the structure of the clothes look a lot like Mary Katrantzou’s Spring 2011 rtw collection. Of course, I’ll have to do another post on her because she’s another story all her own.

I really feel like Lady Gaga should just do what she needs to do and buy all the recent collections of McQueen so she can be aesthetically satisfied for the rest of her life. Of course, where would the dresses made out of animal flesh be? I don’t think Sarah Burton would go for that, but if she did, I wouldn’t be too surprised. And then there’d be the lack of  shock when Gaga walks the red carpet. At this point, though, none of her wardrobe choices surprise or stun me anymore. She should wear Banana Republic just to see how many people would faint, how many would throw up, and how many would cry.

The shoes are my favorite part. They’re like a lightening storm–they look scary enough that you should look away but there’s something dangerously and enticingly addictive about them. The hair is really crazy, I don’t know if I can even try to relate it back to any other element in pop culture because it’s just so ethereal and out there.

Kate Somers as part of the same collection.

I know this isn’t McQueen, it’s Mulberry, but can we just take a moment and look at Kate Somers’ hair? I can’t get over it, I’m such a redhead fanatic.

‘Des robes de contes de fée’: Amanda Nørgaard by Carlotta Manaigo for L’Express Styles, May 2010 in Alexander McQueen Spring Summer 2010 via Tess.

I love the shoes, that’s basically the only reason why I posted this. Also it’s in the same collection as the other pictures so it only makes sense. And Amanda Norgaard looks specially bad ass over here.

Lily Cole, in Alexander McQueen, by Anthony Maule Vogue Russia 2012. I guess this is becoming a Lily Cole fan blog now, and the worst part is, I don’t know if I care.

F/W 2011/2012, McQueen again. I love this detail, it looks like some sort of witch. But not like an old witch, some sort of weird punk chick living next door who just happens to brew strange soups and likes couture.

A drawing I really love of him by Om-b-r-e on tumblr. I really like drawings of artists and designers, almost more than photos, because it shows what people think of them more clearly (or at least I think so.) Drawings are always a little different than the photo even if the person is a great artist.

Same collection, I especially like the animal skin. Frida Gustavsson for Alexander McQueen, I’m pretty sure this is part of a look book or maybe an ad,but I don’t care because anything McQueen is legit to me.

Still, I loved the editorial they did in Vogue to commemorate him. It’s one of my favorite modern Vogue editorials.

Alexander McQueen F/W 2010, ‘Noble Farewell’ by Annie Leibovitz for Vogue US.

Even though it didn’t comprise the Spring ’10 collection, I still loved it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

