Random

I love how I posted that short and sloppily written thing about graphic shirts yesterday and then I get 3 likes and then I compose a long post about suburbia and the politics of Lena Dunham and an Anna Sui show and I get nothing. I’m not complaining I JUST DON’T UNDERSTAND.

Regardless, I have created a list of things I have enjoyed this week:

1. Grimes:

Listen to “Vanessa” once. You will fall in love. Grimes (Claire Boucher) is a super cool chick from Canada who makes amazing electronica. Her album “Visions” came out in February and is available on iTunes. I highly recommend checking out all her albums (as that’s just the latest one.) Also in the video for “Vanessa,” all the girls are super gorgeous (not that beauty defines people but women are hot, forever and always that was literally the worst defense for such a horrible statement oh my gosh I’m tired.)

Via this tumblr.

2. So I read Nylon (I hope you don’t judge me for that) sometimes, and their young Hollywood issue just came out. There was an article featuring Juno Temple and she’s doing this movie called Little Birds, which takes place in a town right outside of L.A. I’m so excited for it! It looks really good (and scary):

It might be a short trailer, but personally I really think it could be good. Or it also could be bad, too, I can’t tell yet. Either way I’m going to see it.

3. Rookie never fails to inspire me…I find all of their articles intriguing and insanely refreshing, but this one almost beats them all. As a society in America, we are always told college is what we’re here for in order to get a good job. While this may be true, I have to revert back to the good old New York Times Magazine again–they had an article about students who graduated from Drew University. I think that in the end, it doesn’t matter really which one you go to but so long as you go to a decent one and even better if it’s prestigious–anyway, a lot of the college grads of Drew couldn’t find jobs. For the life of them–some submitted TONS of apps and it didn’t matter. They majored in literature but were working in chain stores in malls. So Rookie’s article kind of makes sense at a time like this–do WE REALLY need college right after high school? Sometimes I wonder if it’s better to work and meet new people without working. You can still educate yourself with books (sounds stupid, but the library always educates me.) Plus, it might be good to figure out what you like and then go to school for it later. People always act like you need to know what you like now and it scares me. I’m going to college, there’s no question about it, but I think it’s good for a small group of people. And it was great they published this because people are so judgmental about it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

