Dry Martinis

One of my favorite things ever are the suburbs and especially suburbs portrayed in the media. Real suburbs are gorgeous too, but the majority of them aren’t filled with small pastel houses and blue skies and no trees. I like researching different suburbs, probably because they have good schools there.

My latest favorite portrayal of the ‘burbs is Anja Rubik in Vogue US:

She reminds me a little too much of Betty Draper in that editorial…

Edward Scissorhands:

Obviously common aspects in regards to the portrayal of the suburbs are conformity, constriction, pastels, and clear, blue skies.

This is a real place. I believe it is Henderson, Nevada in the U.S.:

Pete Seeger–Little Boxes, one of my favorites ever.

Arcade Fire’s third album was one of my favorites (although I love Arcade Fire to death) and this song describes the suburbs so well.

Their full length scenes from the suburbs is also epic too.

Ah yes, the pastel blue skies again.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

