I’ve got the blues

I have to say that out of all the fall collections, Anna Sui’s makeup was definitely my favorite. I like how it’s so bright and the dot on the bottom below the lash line is really subtle, like a hint or a small wave, but it’s still noticeable. The clothes weren’t my favorite out of all of them (Rodarte was better to me) but this makeup is killer. I can’t stop looking at pictures of it.

Don’t get me wrong though, the clothes were still great. They complimented the makeup really well and (in this case) they also were paired with grotesque yellow tights. I say that like it’s a bad thing, but yellow tights are something that are hard to pull off, and personally, I think that when you do, they’re fun to wear. The beads were my favorite part, sort of like the whole Grandma thing (grandmothers always seem to like embellishments) but not, because the makeup was so fresh. Another thing about the makeup: I liked how the eyes were done in a cat-eye style. I see so many people doing it lately but usually it’s black, and doesn’t stand out quite as much.

I know blue eye makeup is a bit taboo, but they really really did a good job of playing it off well here. Plus, I don’t think it has to be thought of as dumb or tacky. Here’s a great example of it done right. I liked the previous collection’s outfits more but its makeup just wasn’t the same.

I love Best Coast and because this makeup is blue and reminds me of the ocean because my California girl tendencies have officially gotten the better of me:

From the bottom up: Gap Tooth Bitch, Toxic Stardust, Oliver Kissed Tigerlily

Video: Number1Flynn

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “I’ve got the blues

  1. I’ve been trying to find the color in shops everywhere since the show, can’t find it… do you know where they have something as clear and bright?

    • I’m sure they have it at Sephora somewhere…I go there sometimes and their selection is absolutely glorious. Urban Decay is a great brand to try in terms of eye shadows if you haven’t looked before.

Leave a Reply

